This iconic 16-pound cannon from the Battle of the Alamo is on display outside the Long Barrack. It is mounted on a hand-made replica of an 1800's style carriage that resembles the one that would have been used during the battle in 1836.
The cannon was disabled and buried by the Mexican Army after the battle. Years later, it was discovered by the Maverick Family and later given to the Alamo.
Spanish soldiers saved this 18th century cannon from a shipwreck in Matagorda Bay off of the Texas coast in 1817. It was brought to San Antonio where it was later captured by Texian forces during the Siege and Battle of Bexar in 1835. The following year, the Texians used the cannon at the Battle of the Alamo. It was found buried near the present day intersection of Houston and Alamo streets.
Caliber: 16 pounder
Weight: 2,240 lbs
Diameter of Bore: 5.25"
Donor: Lewis Maverick